Who I am, what I am doing, and What’s Amoeba Labs!

Fab senchuri
5 min readJan 8, 2024

--

As 2024 is finally here and it’s already the 8th today, I’m here for a fresh start to my 2024 journey. I am writing a bit about my background, what I am currently doing, and what Amoeba Labs is all about!

Coming from a background in Business, Product Design & Development consulting, I have been working for the past few years with SMEs and large corporations across borders. Currently, I am serving as the Head of Design and Chairman at Amoeba Labs, a Design agency based in Nepal. Additionally, I am working on a few other projects of mine, but we will discuss those in future posts.

So, what is Amoeba Labs exactly? Let me provide a little background:

I have been involved with more than 10 tech firms specializing in Software development. While working with some as part of their teams, with others, I hired them during my tenure in big corporations. Despite the top-notch services they delivered, I always felt that something was missing or that something extra needed to be done to achieve the full potential of the services. The products were not performing as planned.

I questioned myself about the missing points:

  1. Was the tech not built perfectly?

2. Was the service we aimed to provide not placed right?

3. Was the business model out of place?

4 Was the product launched too early or too late?

If not these, then what?

After thorough research and multiple interviews with founders, business owners, and other professionals in the field, I found the answers were beyond my initial questions or, should I say, out of the box!

Making a business flourish and achieve its milestones is a progressive task; tremendous growth cannot be achieved in a day. Patience and the collaboration of assets such as technology, business model, and both digital and physical presence are crucial. This led to the conclusion that customer experience, a relatable digital presence, and brand identity play key roles. Once these elements are well-researched and molded into a vision, both the tech and business sides can grow exponentially. At the end of the day, it’s the customer experience, i.e., the UI/UX of the product, with design aligned to business.

While people often think UI/UX is just about the look and feel of a product, it has more depth to it. We talk about brand voice, brand identity, customer retention, customer experience, and other elements that fall under business, sales, marketing, and technical administration. But if we look closely, all these revolve around the product, which users interact with, and it all starts with the first step: UI/UX or product design. A complete product design team not only focuses on a visually appealing product but also researches user pain points, creates user personas, and establishes guidelines for brand consistency.

With all these considerations and my strong background in this niche, I engaged in discussions with over a dozen founders, business owners, and users to validate my findings. The response was positive. This led to the big question:

1. How can I use my expertise to help companies facing similar issues?

2. Should I start consulting for all businesses?

3. Should I work part-time or make a quick jump from one job to another, rapidly sharing my knowledge?

4. Should I initiate a counselling program or something else?

In this journey, Darshan Awasthi was with me all along. We had mind-boggling conversations while researching and concluding the problem. We realized that our individual efforts wouldn’t be enough to help all these companies, and we couldn’t just sit and wait for someone else to do it because we knew Nepal has the potential to produce global-level products, create new market niches, and compete with global brands. What was needed was just a set of extra pairs of hands to assist them.

Then came an idea: why don’t we create a complete design agency that covers not only the UI/UX of a product but the entire brand of a business? From product design to customer experience, from brand voice to brand identity, from digital presence to physical awareness, from a well-crafted customer experience to a complete relevant brand that users can expect to solve their problems. And here we are. Darshan and I co-founded Amoeba Labs with a mission to help and transform brands of business owners and founders and assist them in going national as well as global.

Amoeba Labs works closely in customer experience with businesses, brand voice, brand identity, brand guidelines, product design, and business-product consulting for business owners, founders, and new entrepreneurs to help them launch a globally fit product.

You can visit our site (We are revamping it by the way) : amoebalabs.co to understand more about it.

We are serving currently 10+ tech firms, 20+ business owners and 100+ projects across borders by 2023 and we are planning to increase this milestone by 200+ business owners and 1000+ projects this year.

We are also planning to start training and counselling programs for Business owners and early — stage founders and Product designers so that Nepal can actually become a Hub for international Market.

Damn, i have a lot of things still to be shared but even with on a few, this post has become long enough to bore you so let’s save up for future post too.

So, if you find my insights, learning relatable, fun and interesting, make sure to connect with me. I am also open for quick consulting for your business so don’t hesitate to message me.

My Linkedin Profile : Fab Senchuri

#entrepreneurship #designagency #business #innovation #brandvoice #brandidentity #productdesign #customerexperience

--

--

Fab senchuri

Sharing bite-sized learnings from my ongoing journey.